Just another WordPress.com site

This morning the 3rd stage started in Vitoria-Gasteiz. 164 km (mountain)

The Queen Stage, which is often a hard stage, finished in Eibar, an industrial city in the Basque country. There were seven categorized climbs with the usual Alto de Ixua, Alto de San Miguel and Alto de Usartza combination before a short, twisty descent finish. Sammuel Sanchez won this stage this year again for the third time.

Have a look at the bikes and cyclists.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And the great Jens Voigt. 

He loves Basque supporters, but we also love him. A thank you letter to Basque fans for their loyal support throughout his 14-year career (April 2011) :

Voigt wrote: “My first win as a professional rider was in the Tour of the Basque Country in my first professional year back in the year 1998. I was still in the blue and white team kit from “Team Gan” and this victory changed my cycling career for the better. It was also the first time I had the good fortune to experience the passion and fairness of the Basque fans.I remember it well. It was a very cold and rainy day, and you still showed up for the finish and the podium ceremony in large numbers.And probably there and then I fell in love with the Basque Country and the people living here. Every year after that, when my team got an invitation to the race, I signed up for the Tour of the Basque Country. I just love it, even though it’s one of the hardest races you can find on the calendar in terms of the terrain and quality of the peloton. Regardless, I just love to come back. … Thank you, my beloved Basque fans!”

Leave a comment